Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Singapore

    June 7, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    It is believed that buses plying on the route between Ipoh to Kuala Lumpur have some of the highest frequencies. The buises depart from Singapore as early as 4:00 am and the last bus leaves Singapore at 9:00 pm. I had booked a bus at 7:30 am and was surprised to know that there are buses every 30 minutes leaving for Kuala Lumpur from Ipoh. Although travel by train is faster but the locals highly prefer travelling by Bus – Thanks to its frequency and comfort. Since I wanted to take in the best of both, the beautiful landscape of Ipoh as well as the journey between the 2 cities the preferred mode of transport was definitely Bus. This is because I could have a view of the beautiful Gua Tempurung Mountain terrain as the Bus passes through this area on the North South Highway.

    Some of the famous Bus Operators plying on this route are Lapan Lapan Travel, Starmart Express, and The One Travel and Tours. I preferred travelling by Starmart Express based on my past experience as the Operator is quite punctual about its timings and the frequency is great too. I booked my tickets from https://www.redbus.sg/bus-tickets/singapore-to-… as I could choose from a list of Bus Operators as well as my departure time and my point of arrival. I had no issues during my journey and the staff was quite cooperative. The driver also halted for wash room breaks on requests and covered the entire distance within the stipulated time. If you are looking forward to set out on your journey luxuriously, I would recommend you to book tickets with Kesatuan Express. The buses are not only luxurious but also halt only at a fewer stops. The buses only have 27 seats and the ticket would cost you somewhere around SGD 36 to SGD52.

    The duration of the journey is about 5 hours but purely depends on the traffic condition on the highway. All Buses leave Singapore from the Tuas Check Point and provide a meal stop as well as a Washroom Break at the Yong Peng Food Court. If you are planning to embark on your journey during midnight I could get across only one Operator which was Golden Coach Express. Many of the popular Bus Operators had their pick up point around the famous Beach Road area like Jalan Sultan and Golden Mile Complex. The One Tours and Travel was the only Operator having its pick up point at the Boon Lay Shopping Centre. One of the main reasons to take a Bus to Ipoh was because the flight fares were too expensive and Fire Fly was the only airline from Singapore to Ipoh. Compared to the flight fare, bus ticket proved quite economical. Next when I travel from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur, I will make sure that I board a bus at midnight so that I can sleep comfortably throughout the journey at night and by morning I will reach my destination. Taking a Bus from Singapore to Ipoh is quite flexible comfortable and convenient.
    Read more