Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    NYC to Cape Town

    November 24, 2016 in South Africa ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    So we finally arrived in the mother city after which was probably the most gruelling flight I've ever experienced. To keep it short, I had terrible after effects of some bad Japanese the night before and spent the whole plane ride running to the bathroom and getting no sleep at all.

    The connection in Jozi was a mad rush with everyone scattering around getting their bags re-checked. The plane ride to Cape Town was actually good and I snuck in an hour or so of sleep.

    Arriving in Cape Town, we picked up our rental car for the week, checked into our Airbnb in De Waterkant and took an afternoon nap. After the nap we decided to walk to the V & A waterfront, do some shopping and get some dinner which I desperately needed in my depleted state. The fresh South African air with the natural beauty of Cape Town already started rubbing off on me and I started feeling better and more energised. And lo and behold, there we run into Albert and Heidi as well while having dinner!

    All in all, great to be back in the land of milk and honey!

    - Chris
    Read more