Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Last sleep in India

    September 19, 2017 in India ⋅ 🌙 30 °C

    We said goodbye to Dr. Rahman this morning and left Babaneswar for New Delhi. We arrived around noon and checked into the Red Fox hotel, where we stayed our first night. Our driver took us to a restaurant in the downtown core and I had the BEST chicken Korma I've ever tasted. Then went to Connaught place, a CRAZY market in the middle of the city. Totally where I wanted to be!!!!! We fought through the crowds and had a few verbal altercations w vendors over prices... thanks to Susan who knows the ropes around here and didn't allow them to take advantage of her wide eyed white friend!! Lol.
    My Dream shopping trip complete I sleep in the same bed I did on my first night in India. Full circle ..... so much to process. I think I'll need some time for that. So much happiness to meet these children who have found safe haven and at the same time so much sorrow to look around and see so many vulnerable people in this place.
    Tomorrow we are off to the Taj Mahal, then airport, then home.
    Read more