Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    On the tourist trail in York

    September 12, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Today we were unabashed tourists. We went to a gift shop for morning coffee; thence to the Jorvik Viking Centre for a theme park ride through an animatronic recreation of tenth century Coppergate; then to the Shambles to buy fresh fudge; then to Yorkminister (aka York Cathedral) to visit Emperor Constantine and to hear the bells tolling for the passing of Elizabeth II. After that, beer and chips in Harkers and a spot of gift shopping.

    I think we could've dressed a little more touristy: maybe puffy jackets with koalas printed on them, and matching caps. There's still time.

    York is just irresistible. I could stay here a lot longer. I'm definitely feeling more myself after being nuts in Nottingham. And Stuart has a readier smile.

    We've already passed the accent meridian some time around Milton Keynes, so I don't think I'll have trouble understanding people in Newcastle or Edinburgh. I mean, it's still the English language, right? It can't be harder to understand than Australian English... can it?
    Read more