Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Limping to the finish line

    October 3, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    After our QANTAS flight was delayed for a whole day (due to, and I quote "a rotational issue downline", our train to Newcastle has also been redirected from Central to Strathfield at 10pm on a public holiday evening due to "operational issues." Stu and I are in an immaculate mood considering we have just done 22.5 hours of travel stretched over 40 hours of calendrical time. We did at least get through customs and security breezily. And the Heathrow Hilton was gorgeously deluxe.

    I was in a good mood and okay health for most of the flights. Maybe I am really starting to develop as a person.

    Maybe it was the codeine, atenolol, ibuprofen and pseudoephedrine. Who can say?

    I watched a Michael Bay dumbfest called "Ambulance" and ate a Margarita Calzone on the plane. I liked the name so much, I toyed briefly with making that my drag name. Apart from that it was naps, self pity, dissociation, and watching the screen of the woman in front of me watching "Seven Years in Tibet."

    Home in a few hours. Everything now is pure logistics, without a shred of sentimentality.
    Read more