Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Tocón de Quéntar to Quéntar 15.9km

    October 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    From Tocón de Quéntar we walked to the main road, and then took a narrow path that scrambled up a slope. All well signposted, there was no way to get lost, even if we did stray away from the path as we we were taking in all the nature around us.

    We then followed a gravel track, and we're going along, we tested if there was an echo. There was so we yodeled a bit 😄

    This obviously didn't frighten a few cabras monteses, which looked down on these two weird pilgrims.

    The trail took us to the highest point of the Camino Mozárabe. We think it was in a quarry, but there was no landmark, so we just kept going, and walked down to Quéntar.

    Quéntar is a town all built on the side of a hill, so we kept going down, until we reached the Ayuntamiento, and the Quéntar Hotel right next to it.

    The Bar Los Angeles is part of the hotel. I ordered a plato alpujarreño. It is a local speciality. When I ordered, the two Spanish pilgrims we had met last night asked if I had had one before. When I said I hadn't, they laughed and said that when I had finished, I could walk up to the top of the nearby mountains. When the waiter brought the dish, he put it down in front of me, and made a comment along the same lines. It was good and plentiful. No dinner for me tonight!
    Read more