Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Hill Trek

    November 8, 2017 in Thailand ⋅ 21 °C

    I spent November 8th trekking in the hills north of Chiang Rai. I booked this trek through my guesthouse.

    When I was picked up, I was amused that the guesthouse owner twice notified the trekking company staff that I spoke Thai. After picking up the various trekkers, I sat in the back of a pickup truck for the 30 minute ride northwest.

    The trek started off with an easy 0.75 mile hike to a Lisu Village. The Lisu are Christians from Yunnan province who fled China after the revolution. From there, the hike went up a very steep hillside with a barely visible path first through tea plantations, then through a lychee grove. The payoff at the end was a great view of the surrounding hills and Chiang Rai in the distance. After that, we hiked downhill, stopped at a spectacular waterfall, and then we ended up in an Akha Village where our lunch was cooking.

    Most of lunch was cooked in the hollow center of bamboo poles, including sticky rice and an egg, tomato, and onion mix. There was also chicken, pork, vegetable noodles, and fruit. The guides made our utensils from bamboo, including our little bowls and chopsticks.

    After lunch, we hiked to a spot where we each planted a tree (some kind of local fruit) and then hiked to a Lahu Village. Our trucks were waiting for us at the village to take us to our final destination of the day, which was a hot spring. After a good soak, we made our way back to Chiang Rai in the early twilight. Total hike distance was about 5.75 miles.

    When I returned to Baan Baramee, I found a self service spread of khnom jeen which the owner said was for the guesthouse's anniversary celebration. I took a small portion, then I wandered out to the clock tower where I had pad thai.

    This was a short but happy immersion back in Thailand. I deliberately chose not to spend much time in Thailand because I wanted to explore new places, but it was still great to reconnect with my former home.

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/North-…
    Read more