Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Nanya School & Host Family Dinner

    April 15, 2019 in China ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Early start this morning so we could eat breakfast at Nanya Middle School. We were then paired with our buddies at the welcoming ceremony. My buddy’s name is Desweet, she’s 14 and likes Chinese rap music (not a subject I know much about). We sat and watched a basketball match and their school won! We spent much of the day giving presentations about Darrick Wood, performing We Will Rock You and Lewis Carroll’s ‘Jabberwocky’, as well as watching performances from the Chinese students. We also had a calligraphy session with our buddies. Then for dinner I went with my buddy to her grandparents’ house to eat dinner, which was the nicest I’ve had all trip. Her mother is an English teacher so communication was pretty easy. We spent a lot of time sharing differences between our school lives as they seem much more motivated to study than us. They then took me to a shopping centre to get milk tea before heading back to the hotel.Read more