Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Gunung Api Banda

    February 20, 2019 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    When I just arrived to Banda Naira I met an old lady - Ibu Siti - that's the most bright soul and the kindest heart I encountered here in Banda Island. She told me immediately - "All islands around here are great but if you don't climb volcano island Gunung Api then you haven't been to Banda. I did climb it". So today I did this hike... Ibu Siti was right with wording - it was a climb, the most brutal I've ever had - elevation 640m by a track with angle of 50° - by a track covered with extremely slippery volcanic chip. While going up I was shooing away thoughts of how I was going to descend. And look at the view - worth any difficulties and liters of sweat that drenched all my clothes and was streaming down to my already slippery flip flops. Thank you, Ibu Siti!Read more