Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Back to Nature

    March 1, 2019, Flores Sea ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I'm very short of words to describe what I've been experiencing during these few weeks traveling around Indonesia by sea yet I'll attempt to. In fact, it's a rediscovery of the country I love the most - in the last 12 years since I was first time brought here I'd never thought of traveling around by ships - in a country that comprises 18.000 islands! Being the only white person surrounded by Indonesians, sleeping in an extremely hot shared economy class sections surrounded by hundreds of people, queuing with them to get my share of white rice, waiting in a flooded toilet for my turn to take shower. And then - wave to crowds when leaving a port, hang on to rails watching beautiful sunsets and sunrises, mountain ridges appearing on horizon getting closer to the next port, tons of coffee, laughs, domino games and reading. Gratitude fills my soul, rejoice pours from my heart and words of thankfulness uttered to those who helped me to be who I am now - my mom, my geography teacher, and last but not least - my favourite writer Thor Heyerdahl whose books inspired that bedridden weak kid to fight and walk again to see this marvellous and magical world. Re-reading his "Fatu-Hiva: Back to Nature" and smile doesn't go off my lipsRead more