Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 154

    17 KM

    June 3, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Day 8 of Sumbawa moto-trip (905km behind): Now a bit of my nightmare: Originally I thought it's 17km to the top from the beginning of the trail (according to maps.me) but at this sign there was still 4.5km to go. I was quite exhausted already - every major elevation gain was followed by at least 30% elevation loss and 17km, and a trail overwhelmed by fallen trees of different sizes and on different heights from the ground was not strolling along boulevard. This sign was a quite decisive point for me - either to give up and go down (as otherwise I would have to cover 22km back in the same day, yet loosing a chance to see the crater) or push myself to the limits and have strong faith in myself. The choice was obvious. Why Maps.me was showing 17 km? Eventually, I realised that the shortest distance they consider a straight line - around 20 meters, yet in fact those 20 meters on trail sometimes had more than 20 twists and turns. Good lesson 😜Read more