Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Calais to Dover - Ferry Fail

    January 23, 2020 in France ⋅ ⛅ 41 °F

    At the start of the Paris leg, I knew I wanted to see the White Cliffs of Dover from the sea. Getting Paris via then back to England on the ferry accomplished that. The transportation strike had me worried but that got cleared up 2 days ago. Now all i needed was fair winds and calm seas.
    So far it’s not gone well. I booked my ticket with DFDS Ferry, as I didn’t have a car I booked a ticket with a bike. There was no pedestrian only option. Now, I admit that when I booked, I thought it was odd that there was no pedestrian only option, but as DFDS offered an upgraded ferry seating area, complete with champagne, I thought I was good to go. l show up to the terminal in plenty of time only to learn that I really do need a bike to get on the ferry. There is no way for me to "walk" on. What kind of ferry will only let you take a bike and you can’t walk on? You can fit 4 people in a car for 1 price and here I am wanting to pay for a ticket without a vehicle. After a few minutes in discussion with DFDS, I left their ticket agent, went next door to the ticket agent at P&O and purchased a pedestrian ticket for 39 euro's. I will try to get my money back from DFDS, but who knows.

    Now, I'm sitting all alone in the ferry terminal, waiting for my boat. Slightly anti-climatic.
    Read more