Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Munich

    May 30, 2017 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Day 1:
    Well I made it to Munich!! 11 hour flight to Abu Dhabi then a stopover which only lasted 1.5 hours and then a 7 hour flight here! On the second leg of the plane I sat next to a lovely lady who is German and now lives in Albury (Australia) and has for 8 years, she is a youth councillor, a masseuse, a beauty therapist plus she is qualified in a few more areas as well. She was on her way back visiting family. She gave me lots of tips about Germany and also indulged me on a lot of history about Germany. Lots of random interesting facts about past kings, their culture, the difference in farming (photo from plane, they only have about 1 paddock each), she told where to go try some good German food in a beer garden (pork knuckle, she said to only have it once because it is quite sickening). She also helped me to get my train ticket and on my way to the main station as she was just a couple of stops before me! First new friend on Facebook👍

    Getting off the train was the easy part, I had an ordeal finding the hostel. Went out the wrong exit so had to go back to the train station and ask. Then once I was out the right exit I took a wrong turn!! Had to go back walked in circles and decided I was too hungry didn't eat the crappy plane food, too sickening. Grabbed a bite and tried again to locate the hostel! Walked straight the street(they are all called str something something ebe or esse) it was called something different on the one side I was walking to the one coming from the other direction (I asked a security guard) so first lost experience. Dropped off my bag (way too heavy) found a cafe for some wifi. The streets are filled with beggars, lots of old women and quite a few amputee beggars as well. One man had lost both lower legs below the knee so was sliding as walking on bits of padded cardboard

    Next was the supermarket experience. Went in wanting some 2 minute noodles and a container. They had nothing of the like there. There alcohol is just out on the shelves, I tried to take a photo but there were too many people waking past. They have no plastic bags or eftpos facilities. An elderly man got accused of stealing so it kind of went into partial lockdown. These rails came down over all the counter stuff like your chewies. It was just a lot of angry yelling in German so I couldn't tell you what he was saying

    Now I'm waiting to check in and have a shower! I haven't had one in over 24 hours and feel gross. Plus I've been through that many different Timezones I'm sooo tired!!

    Auf Wiedersehen
    Read more