Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Swimming in Rio Secreto

    March 13, 2016 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    It's dark outside when we get up early in the morning. I feel the high humidity on my skin and everthing's lightly buzzing while walking in some kind of caravan from the ship to our ferry. On the mainland we keep on travelling by bus to yucatan where the sun burns from heaven. I'm getting a bit nervous don't knowing what's waiting for me in this mexican jungle. I'm glad having my man by my side holding my hands and looking forward to our exciting adventure!
    We dive in the protective darkness of mother earth where nothing lives apart from a bat and some spiders or cat fishes. It is only a little break in the ground and underneath in the depth there is a fascinating world of stone and water. Suddenly I hear my heartbeat in my chest and every breath seems to be a little storm in this silence. The rippling water's warm and despite the fear it is really cozy covered by this million years old cave ceiling. Afterwoods I feel like new born - everything's brighter and louder.
    Read more