Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Night train

    February 9, 2023 in Thailand

    The girls had an early bus the next day but I got up to say goodbye before heading back to bed. My train wasn’t until 2:30 pm so I milled around and got some food for breakfast and tupperwared For later as I had read there was no food on the train (not true in the end).

    I missed the first bus to the train station because I wasn’t standing by the roadside hailing it down, but my stress was unnecessary as the half hour wait for the next one still got me to the train station fairly early.

    I booked the train as I thought it would be more social than the bus but that definitely wasn’t the case. However it is probably more comfortable lying here writing this on my bunkbed watching the colours of sunset time tonight then it would be on a bus (and it was about £4 cheaper which is a bonus).

    It does mean that I have about a half hour walk at 4:30 am as the nights train leaving later in the day (8 pm) was fully booked when I finally stopped procrastinating booking it four days ago.

    I’m also headed straight for Pai as I didn’t leave Enough time to book a good hostel in Chang Mai so I figured I may as well just do the extra travel in what would’ve been dead time anyway, and hence I’ve managed to get the hostels I wanted in both places.

    It feels like so far I really only had the prologue to my travels. I really enjoyed my time with Livi, but we didn’t do that much outside of chilling and acclimatising. I’m now solo for real and very much looking forward to the main story of my travels now that I’m rested and ready.

    Update whilst uploading this to FindPenguins: I successfully made the journey despite not having a bus booked. I managed to show up at the bus station and get on the 6:30 am bus as there was one no-show.
    Read more