Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    April 5th The family arrives

    April 15, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Marc, Pam and 4 of my grandkids arrived around 6:30 Thursday evening. We spent about an hour setting up their campsite and visiting, then all of us went over to Eric's site for dinner. We had clam chowder that Suzi had made fresh that day from clams we caught on our last trip to Long Beach.

    I got a text from Robert and Aurora that they were about 1 hour out and were going to stop for dinner before rolling in. When I told them about Suzi's clam chowder, they decided to wait until they got to Las Vegas. The arrived around 8:30 and were finally set up and ready to eat around 9 PM.

    We had a great time visiting. Marc, Pam and Kids went to bed early as they had spent the previous 24 hours driving straight through from Missouri. Rob said he certainly couldn't complain about his 8 1/2 hour drive after hearing that Marc drove straight through.

    Robin and Jordan flew in Thursday night, but they did not get out to the Air Base until well after my bed time. As I started to nod off for the night, I realized that I had all four of my kids in the same place for the first time since 1986. I am truly blessed with an amazing family.
    Read more