Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 84

    Rapture Surf Camp 2.0

    March 21, 2017 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I was super excited to get back to rapture for a few more days. I wrote to Kim and she told me they were going for a 8:30 morning surf session at Playa Maderas. That worked perfectly for me as I could take the Shuttle running to Maderas from Sun Juan early in the morning and just join them there.
    It was funny to be waiting at the beach for the rapture surf shuttle to arrive. Kim was the only guest I still knew but there were also Wade (surf guide), Dany and Alvaro (surf instructor) and Sarah (volunteer) jumping of that car.
    Even though I had only not being surfing for about 10 days it took me a while to get back into it. Especially as I wasn't taking lessons anymore. But it was still fun. We went to 3 different beaches the 3 days I was there which was perfect. I still liked Remanso best.
    The crowd of people was again really nice. A group of 5 germans who had been there last time I was here also came back so there were a few more familiar faces.
    I talked a lot with Sarah about her job as a volunteer and was pretty excited when Vincent asked me how long I would still be in Nicaragua as they might need a new volunteer soon. But Sarah told me she was leaving in about 3 weeks. That didn't really make sense with my schedule. But the next day Sarah came to me and told me she had decided to leave early and wanted to recommend me as her replacement! We went to talk to Vincent about it but he told me there was a friend of his arriving the next day to take Sarahs Job. Seriously? How close could I miss this opportunity twice? But luckily it took him like 5 minutes to realize that he would prefer spending time with his friend without him working. So here I am. Working as a volunteer at my favorite place where I can go surfing almost every day!
    Read more