Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio

    March 10, 2018 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today we left Montezuma for Manuel Antonio National Park. The mode of transportation was a water taxi and a shuttle van. The water taxi ride took about an hour to Jaco. We saw dolphins on the way and the boat stopped so we could watch them.

    From Jaco, it was a shuttle van for another 1.5 hrs. I fell asleep on the way and awoke as we were driving in to the park. Manuel Antonio is incredible! It is also very hot! Today was 34 degrees but it feels so much hotter. I walked around the park a bit by myself as Tracy was having a shower. I found a nice shady spot under a tree. A park person came up to me and told me I need to be careful where I sit as the monkeys can knock the coconuts down and hit me in the head. So much for that nice shady spot. l have already seen monkeys, sloths and iguanas.

    Tonight we went out for pizza and a few drinks. We took a cab and then tried to walk back but we ended up going 3km in the wrong direction so we decided to stop somewhere and call a cab when we realized we were going the wrong direction. On the walk we saw two sloths on the power lines, a short while later we saw another one. That was exciting for me as I really wanted to see a sloth. Looking forward to seeing more animals tomorrow.
    Read more