Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    First thoughts on India

    January 7, 2020 in India ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Leaving home this time was hard. I miss everything about home, apart from the stresses of the race that is life. We travelled south, before flying north, to fly back down south! It was quite a journey and it wasn't remotely relaxing. At one point, I wasnt even sure I would make it onto the flight to Delhi, as I forgot to print my visa. Quelle surprise! 🙄

    I eventually made it to Delhi and luckily we were able to get a room for a few hours sleep. First impressions of New Delhi are that it is noisy and very dated - and also bloody freezing! Not to mention the psychotic way of driving, with no rules and no concern for safety. Oh and the horns. Oh God, the horns drive you CRAZY. They are constant. Our taxi driver even sounded his horn at a poor cow!

    This was a G Adventures trip, and we met our lovely little group of 9. It was lovely to see Yvonne again, who I met in Central America, she's Swiss, and meet with the others of which were English, Australian and Norwegian.

    We headed out to visit a few local sites: the area of The Parliament of India, and India Gate, the latter of which was a memorial to Indian Soldiers who died during WW1. The smog was like a thick blanket, and from Parliament, you could barely make out India Gate.

    You quickly feel overwhelmed by the locals who wish to take pictures with you, and after a while we started politely declining.

    We finished the evening with a local visit to a restaurant - Kitchen with a Cause. A locally run restaurant serving beautiful Indian cuisine.

    A taste of India's capital was enough for me, and I was glad to be departing to our next location.
    Read more