Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Arrival in Spain. Camino check in

    July 28, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Today i slept in i am a little bit sick but im hoping that walking alot of water and rest will help me recover! On my way to the train in Biarritz i sae my first signs for the camino, i took the train to Hendaye and from there walked across the border into Irun to find my hostel. It is a public hostel for pilgrims by donation. I was able to get my credential here (a camino passport that gets stamped alomg the way, proof that you did and are doing the camino). I meet Pete here, he is a middle aged Irish guy that has walked the camino many times. He works with people with substance use disorder and we connected on ideas about spirituality and personal care. I got the sense we did not agree in things like vaccines but it wasnt an issue. He was a lovely man, people here are friendly and excited to meet other pilgrims. In town i had dinner at a place that had a special for pilgrims, 11.50 euro and i had a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine, this im told is normal for northern spain. It wasnt fine dining or anything but it really hit the spot. Packed it in around 930 lights on in the public albergues is 630 am and everyone must be out by 730.Read more