Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    What's in my bag?

    February 14, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    What’s in my Travel Bag?
    As a traveller, the art of packing all of your belongings into a small suitcase or a travel backpack is hard to master. I personally have a medium between overpacking and underpacking (i.e. I pack unnecessary items and leave out things that I really should bring).

    After staying in countless hostels, sleeper trains, overnight coaches, I feel as though I have mastered the art of packing pretty well. So, I thought that I would give you an insight into getting everything sorted out before you travel.
    What I’m currently reading
    I absolutely love having a good book when I am travelling. The issue I find is that I usually run out of reading material when I am halfway through my trip. So, one of my friends recommended that I get a Kindle, as I can store hundreds of books on here to last me through the trip.

    Honestly, I would so recommend doing this, as it saves storage for other important items, it’s so easy to travel with and I never get bored. I really like getting into a good book when I am on a long-haul flight or in a sleeper train, as I find that this really helps to pass the time.

    I’m currently reading “The Memoirs of an Addict”, which is written by a neuroscientist. This book is so interesting, it’s a real life account of a recovering drug addict neuroscientist, who explains the cause and duration of his drug addiction. He also explains what is happening to his brain when he takes drugs and also when he is deprived of them. This is honestly one of the most gripping books I have ever read.
    My travel fale-safes
    For those of you who know me, will know that I really take pride in my little travel gadgets. Take the time to read up on all of the different gadgets that are available to you, but make sure that you do the research as some can just end up cluttering your backpack.

    My favourites are the trtl travel pillow, which is an absolute lifesaver when I’m on crowded flights and trains. This wraps around your bag, so it doesn’t take up any additional space, which I find really convenient.

    Another one of my favourite items is my water bottle that converts dirty water into drinkable water. So, if you’re ever in a country where you can’t drink the tap water, you can actually filter this down and make safe drinking water. This is such a great invention and I honestly don’t leave the house without it!

    How I pass the time
    Travelling solo can be quite difficult and boring if you have long travel journeys. It’s important to make sure that you are making the most of this time spent travelling. I use an app called Duolingo which I would honestly recommend to anyone and everyone. This app teaches you different languages in a really easy and manageable way. If you want to brush up on your local lingo, then this is a great tool to use.

    Other than that, I usually have a journal packed into my bag so that I can write recounts of the trip so far and basically everything that I’m thinking and feeling. This is a great outlet and if you’re ever feeling a little bit lonely, it can often be a source of comfort on your travels.

    https://trtltravel.com
    Read more