Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Lisbon to Alpriate 22 km, sleep 5 hrs

    May 7, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Nervous excitement coupled with not quite being in sync with this time zone led to a mostly sleepless night.

    On top of that, Nick had agreed to walk part way with me today, so I was worried about meeting up with him on time which created more anxiety. I'm guessing that I got somewhere around 5 hours of sleep (or less), because I remember seeing 1:18 on my Fitbit, and I woke up at 6:36.

    But, I made it.

    I met Nick at the Parque das Nações (Park of Nations), the site of Expo '98. We met in front of an impressive sculpture made of trash by artist Bordalo II. https://www.bordaloii.com/big-trash-animals-ser…

    Equally impressive was the 10 km long Vasco de Gama bridge.

    I didn't take many pictures today, but it was a pleasant walk mostly along the Tagus River and a tributary.

    We arrived in Alpriate about an hour before the albergue opened. Fortunately, I had made a reservation, as there was already a "completo" sign on the door. A couple of Irish pilgrims that we met were disappointed, and struggled to find another place to stay. They decided to skip ahead to Santarém.

    This part of the Camino is very busy right now with pilgrims heading to Fatima, and there are only 10 beds in the albergue. I had been second guessing my decision to book most of my accommodations ahead, but I'm glad that I did
    Read more