Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Thursday morning

    May 12, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    I'm only walking 16 km to Vila Nova da Barquinha today so I took my time getting ready, and also had breakfast at the B&B where I spent the night.

    I started on the Camino at 8:00, just in time for the famous Portuguese Formula 1 drivers' commute. (aka regular Portuguese drivers) Some were even racing semi trucks, though there were quite a few non Formula 1 qualifiers.

    Most of the 8 km walk between Azinhaga and Golegã was on a narrow country road with no shoulder, although the thick weeds would have provided a cushioned but scratchy landing spot if I'd had to make a dive to safety.

    It was also nice to see that someone had gotten the word out to Portugal about Wall Drug in South Dakota, and that Marcher Arrant had been here. 😂
    Read more