Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Vila Nova da Barquinha to Tomar 23 km

    May 13, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    The big news today is that I met two Dutch women towards the beginning of the day that I walked with. Unfortunately, they are going to Fatima tomorrow and not continuing on the Camino.

    The first half of the day we walked through eucalyptus forests with a few big hills.

    However, the second half was not so nice and scenic. The Camino was mostly along a road with no shade, and the temperature was around 80° while we were walking. I felt a little guilty walking under the shade of my umbrella while Héleen and Yolanda had the sun beating down on them.

    As we approached Tomar we could see the castle built by the Knights Templar in the 12th century which overlooks the city.

    Unfortunately I was too tired to go up there while the Convento de Cristo which is within the castle was still open for the day.

    But later I took a tuk tuk ride up the hill, and had a nice walk back, discovering a beautiful formal garden along the way.
    Read more