Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 135

    Day 135: Gaming in Manila

    October 28, 2016 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Did very little today, as was the plan. Hotel breakfast was in the 24-hour sports bar downstairs (very weird feeling considering there's pounding music and black-lighting while you're eating your omelette), then headed back upstairs. I did some washing since we were woefully behind, and in the 50 metres between the hotel and the laundry I got solicited by three taxi drivers, one prostitute, a guy selling fake Ray-Bans and another guy selling fake Nikes. I hate this city.

    Went to a fancy hipster coffee shop nearby for lunch which was very good though pricey - but the apple pie we had afterwards was excellent! Unfortunately their internet connection sucked so our plans of relaxing there for a couple of hours were dashed. Back to the room where we stayed for the day, Shandos working and dozing and me playing games.

    In the evening we went to a Korean restaurant around the corner which was nice. I don't eat Korean that often as it isn't really my favourite cuisine, but the food here was good.
    Read more