Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 21: Dubai to Cairo

    March 26, 2011 in Egypt ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Said a tearful goodbye to Shandos as she left for the airport in the morning on her way back to Sydney, before settling in to a long day of time-killing. Originally I'd booked a flight to Cairo at 9am, but a few weeks before leaving Sydney Emirates had changed their schedule, pushing my flight back to 6pm Dubai time. So I killed time at the hotel, killed time at the airport. Almost bought a Man United shirt duty free, but they didn't have my size.

    Had the shittiest flight to Cairo - despite getting an exit row seat with lots of leg room I had no window and was wedged between the wall and a fat man, right next to the screaming baby section. Plane left an hour late, was bumpy the whole way and I dropped fish curry on myself during turbulence.

    At last the flight ended and I got through the airport OK, cleared customs and met the transfer man. The drive to the hotel was an experience - Cairo traffic is crazier than anywhere I've seen. No rules and nobody bothers doing anything except swerving, beeping, flashing their lights and cutting people off. Pedestrians do the same thing, just walking through the traffic.

    At the hotel I met the tour leader Mohamed who's a pretty young and funny guy. Since my flight was late I missed the group meeting and dinner, so meeting the group will have to wait for the morning. Tired after a long day of travel and expecting an early start I went to bed around 10 and slept through the constant car honking and calls to prayer.
    Read more