Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 317

    Day 318: Sorting Out Meds

    December 29, 2017 in Germany ⋅ 🌫 0 °C

    Main task for today was to sort out a refill of my medication. I still had a month or so's worth, but I figured the best option was to find an English-speaking doctor here and get a prescription. Thankfully, there was a doctor just across the road so I called up, confused the receptionist and then just showed up. Thankfully, you don't need an appointment, though there's this funny thing in Germany where everyone greets each other in the waiting room. Unlike Australia where you don't make eye contact with others!

    Waited quite a while, probably 90 minutes, but eventually got in and had no problems. My usual medication isn't available in Germany, but a replacement brand is and shouldn't be a problem (hopefully). Went to pay the 10 euro consult fee and forgot I had no money, so I had to run down the street and find an ATM - a double problem because the doctor's office was closing in 10 minutes! But I managed.

    Visited the pharmacy nearby (or the apotheke as they're called over here) and ordered my meds which should be available tomorrow. I got 300 tablets of each size, so at 2 per day I've got enough for 150 days, or about 5 months. Plus my existing stash, means I'll be sorted until around June. Hopefully that'll be the last time I have to get meds overseas!

    That problem solved, I went home and just chilled out for the rest of the day, though I did a couple of videos as well. Slowly getting through my enormous backlog from Germany, which I'm hoping to finish and have uploaded by the time we head to Italy on January 2.

    Decided to splurge on dinner and headed downstairs to the hotel restaurant where we both had burgers. Tasty, but a bit expensive.
    Read more