Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Yogyakarta: The city of volcanoes

    June 23, 2012 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Very few cities have been able to make a first impression on me as beautiful as Yogyakarta. Also known as Jogja by its mainly young population of students, its view from above the clouds when I was about to land there is something I can never forget.

    Looking out my window of Lion Air, after a long, tiring day of layover at Jakarta airport, all my tiredness evaporated when I saw a dense canopy of volcanoes underneath, covered in fluffy white clouds. The plane bobbed in and out of those clouds, as I looked on in awe at the rugged beauty spreading out below me.

    When I got out of the plane at the quaint little Yogyakarta Adisucipto airport, I was greeted with a cold, fresh breeze, filled with the scent of the mountains. The backdrop comprised of tall peaks, and lush green spaces.

    Before I even set foot out there, I had fallen in love with Jogja. It was the first city I lived in away from my hometown Karachi, and like all things first, it will always hold a very special place in my heart.
    Read more