Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    St Paul's catacombs

    October 20, 2022 in Malta ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    At the end of the village of Ir-Rabat is a major funeral site, all of it under the form of catacombs. The total site, with both St Paul's and St Agatha's catacombs, allows for 1,500 tombs, out of which more or less 1,050 have been occupied (used).
    The site itself includes not only tombs, but also some places for the rites themselves, as well as some more practical places, stairs, places for tools or offerings...
    The first and biggest of these catacombs is St John's catacomb, quite large and including lots of turns and dead ends... a true labyrinth 😰 I even nearly list myself once, but could find my way back.
    Be reassured, there are red "panic buttons" placed in every corner, so that if you feel not good, you can call for help... just think of the people then, they did not have electricity, hence little light, and no panic button...
    This catacomb is mostly a Christian one, I shall elaborate about other catacombs in my next post.
    Oh, and just in case you had any doubt, Béatrice did not join me in these underworld adventures... 😊
    Read more