Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 14

    Did Someone Say Robin Hood?

    9. September 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    DId someone say Robin Hood? Not this little black duck. We're here safely ensconced in Nottingham, and really, the last thing on my mind is Robin Hood or Sherwood Forest. I am not faintly interrested in doing any Robin Hood tourism, although there is some here.

    We had a long drive from West Sussex, up the M1 to get here. One stop about two hours in for a coffee and then unfortunately, a car accident somewhere way ahead and the motorway came a to a screaming halt. We turtled along for over half an hour. My left leg hasn't had to use a clutch for over a year now, so it was getting pretty if-y by the time we did eventually get past the vehicles with their whirling lights. And so many trucks on this road. Very intimidating. They do not mind coming right up behind you. Good grief!

    We met our gracious host Luke, who years before had read my book. We had tried to book his apartment back in 2020 before Covid killed off our trip. Even though his city apartment is no longer an Air B & B, he just offered to put us up for free regardless, vacating his own bedroom for us. He has invited me to speak to his group for an hour tonight which I am happy to do.

    Luke is a young man after my own heart. He has had a similar upbringing to me in religion (the JWs), is gay, and has abandoned the doctrines of his parents for something that is less dogmatic and more open to questioning and wonder. We have very similar approaches to theology. So, a bit of a kindred spirit for me.

    Last night, we met up with one of Chris' friends, Nicholson. He is charming, witty, intelligent, sexy and, in many ways, a bon vivant. A scrumtious Persian dinner with thim after a drink at the Lord Roberts and a walk through the city was a wonderful evening. We even had a look inside Britain's oldest pub, the Ye Old Trip to Jerusalem, or the Trip, built in 1189 into sandstone caves, full of nookes and crannies and not a straight line or right angle to be seen anywhere.

    Half way through the afternoon while talking to Luke, we heard that the Queen was under medical care, and I had already heard she had cancelled her monthly meeting with the Privy Council, her group of advisors. I had wondered in all honesty, "is this it?" Well of course, we all know now, that it was it. The Queen died that afternoon at the age of 96.

    I am still processing it. Like everyone else, she has been a mainstay throughout my entire life, always there, trying to run the family business through good times and bad. A large digital photograph of the Queen was placed on the corner of Nottingham railway station last night which we saw as we walked.

    Politically, it's important for me to say that I am a Republican. It makes no sense at all for Australia to have a British monarch as our Head of State. It is an anachronism, a left-over from times past. And I am glad that the Republican debate in Australia had already reignited before her death.

    The Queen herself was much loved here, but the Royal Family and the institution is problematic even for many Britons. However, due to the power of grief, today is not the day to wax decisively about the monarchy. I feel very very sorry for the close family. Having had my own parents in my life as mainstays right into my older adult life, I know how much of a wrench it is to lose them at such a stage in your own journey.

    Today, we will explore the city and relax. Britain has lost her Queen and has a new King.

    What a day.
    Weiterlesen