Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Perching at Pearson

    September 16, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    At the Lester B. Pearson Airport in Toronto (Mississauga actually) we found a wonderful refuge in Air Canada’s Maple Leaf Lounge. One can get a proper breakfast here, a quiet and clean place to read and a striking view of the airport. I had to resist the quiche, the bacon and egg sandwich and the pancakes. I chose instead an egg and cheese sandwich that strongly resembles an egg McMuffin. My cup of coffee came from a machine that ground the beans and made a delicious brew as good as anything I make at home. And that’s saying something, since I am a bit of a coffee snob. Glenda said she just wants something cool to drink, maybe some cranberry juice. There, free for the taking (if you fly business class), was a refrigerator with bottles of fruit juice including cranberry. Unlike my wife I think airplanes are wonderful. I wish I could say the same about airports. Even so, a place like the Maple Leaf Lounge could persuade me.Read more