Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Muxía

    August 30, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Today was a really special day. I took the bus from Santiago to Muxia, one of the coastal towns that is also connected to the Camino if you decide to keep walking. It’s a small village with mostly local people and a few pilgrims.

    I arrived midday and went right to the beach for a swim. The ocean water was cold, but I saw other people swimming so I knew it was possible! It was the perfect way to mark the end of my Camino - by swimming in the ocean. The shock of the cold water felt invigorating.

    The rest of the day was just as delightful. I walked to the end of the peninsula to see a stone church that was built right along the water. I watched the waves crashing against the rocks for a while and enjoyed the familiarity of the Atlantic ocean and rocks and the ways it looked and felt similar to Maine.

    Dylan happened to have planned a day at the beach with his mom, so we waved to each other across the ocean.

    I ended the day collecting seashells and watching the sunset on the beach. A pretty perfect day.

    I can hear the waves on the shore even as I write this and go to bed.
    Read more