Satellit
Vis på kort
  • Dag 38

    Inside Passage and the Northern Light

    10. maj, North Pacific Ocean ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    After we left Alaska, we were supposed to go to Victoria through an inside passage. Many of our friends we met on the boat looked forward to see the beautiful scenery of the inside passage.

    After we woke up, we only see the ocean and some mountain far away. Later, the captain broadcasted that he made a mistake and missed the turn into the inside passage. However, the weather forecast showing that we were able to see the Northern Lights tonight between 10pm to 2am. We were all excised about it.

    We were careful. We didn’t even consume any alcohol during dinner because we did not want to miss the Northern Light. After dinner, we went back to our room to rest. I even missed to go to the spa tonight to see the Northern Light.

    From the social media, we saw lots of posting about the Northern Lights from the east coast (3 hours ahead of our time). I decided to take a nap before 10pm. I woke up at 10pm and there was nothing at the balcony. At 10:30pm, Paul and Symeon went upstairs to the Lido market for mid-night snack. At around 10:40pm, I saw post from Facebook sharing Northern Lights post from places near home. Then I put on a thick jacket and a warm slipper, and went to sit outside of the balcony.

    When I was in the balcony, I saw some milky cloud, like a curtain, from the sky, but there was no colour at all! I looked at the photo from FB again and the photo was similar to what I saw on the sky, but with colour. Then I took my phone out and tried to take some photo of the sky and colour shown on the photo. This only worked on the phone rear camera, not the front camera for selfies!

    Symeon came back with a cup of hot water for me. Then I asked him to put on a jacket and we took some photo. We took a couple nice shots and Symeon went back to play with his video game.

    Then Paul came back and said he didn’t see any Northern Lights upstairs. Then I showed him how to capture it too. I also showed our next door neighbour from the balcony. Everybody is happy!

    It was almost the end of our journey. It was a very good wrap up and this made our trip more memorable!
    Læs mere