Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 4

    Summer's Over

    8 mai 2013, Écosse ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Various Descriptions of Scottish Weather

    There are two seasons: Winter and July
    There are four seasons in one day.
    There is no such thing as bad weather in Scotland, only bad clothing choices.

    Tuesday was truly a phenomenal anomaly. It was sooo nice. We were joking that I was the only person to come to Scotland to get a sunburn.

    Wednesday started off grey and just got greyer! I still had a lovely time because really, who comes to Scotland for the weather?

    We left Edinburgh and started the day off at Culross Place in Culross on the Firth of Forth, a restored 16th Century home of a wealthy merchant. Its outer walls were stained yellow to display wealth and status. A gross, yet interesting tidbit, typically merchants and their guests didn't leave the dinner table to use the loo. There was a servant with a chamber pot who stood near the table (origin of the term right hand man) and both men and women would use it without leaving the table. This occurred because you didn't want business deals to happen without your knowledge and this may have happened if you left the table to do your "business". New info: apparently Highlander may have filmed some episodes here. I don't know, I have never watched the show.

    We then went to St. Andrew's (home of golf) and also home to St. Andrew's University where William met Catherine. We drove by the beach where the opening sequence of Chariots of Fire took place and giggled as our tour guide played the theme at full blast. We drove by the first two holes of the old St. Andrew's Golf Course. Some people remained there, but a few of us went into town as it had started to rain. Sandy, Barry, Dave, Karen and I went to a really great restaurant called the Doll's House for lunch. After that, Sandy, Barry and I braved the elements (horizontal, driving rain) to walk through the ruins of the cathedral. We had so much fun! We laughed so much, we just had the giggles as we struggled with collapsing umbrellas and fogged up camera lenses.
    We later enjoyed a bracing walk to the ruins of the castle. The wind was whipping off of the North Sea and I nearly took flight using my umbrella as a sail. I have only one picture of the castle as my camera lens was covered in raindrops. Ooops.

    Sandy and I went shopping and bought cashmere scarves. Of course, I didn't look at the price because that would make sense. I think that I may have yelped just a little bit at the cash register when the saleslady rang up my purchase. Justify,justify, justify......I will wear that scarf for the rest of my life! Ummmmmmm.......2019 - I don't know where it is!
    En savoir plus