Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Fradley Junction

    October 20, 2020 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Back through Fazeley Junction after Tamworth, we were aiming to make Fradley Junction for the evening. Just before we returned to Hopwas, I changed into my running gear and hopped off the boat for a cheeky 5km. Running on the towpath between Hopwas and Whittington was very picturesque and as I hit 5km I readjusted and headed for the Plough beyond Whittington in Huddlesford. 9km later and quite broken I treated myself to a pint whilst I waited for Ben to collect me!

    We journeyed the last hour through to Fradley where we moored up whilst I simultaneously sat on a Teams meeting, and then cracked my head off the roof of the boat as my battery died and I tried to sort the charge out whilst maintaining signal...OUCH. A restorative cider did little to calm the splitting headache and after a tea of spicy noodles back on the boat I had a relatively early night.

    Rain overnight had eased but not disappeared by morning, although mercifully my headache had. We went for a wander in the drizzle around the Fradley Nature Reserve before making a move through the locks and onwards to Alweras.
    Read more