Satellite
Show on map
  • 17th March 2018

    March 17, 2018 in England ⋅ ⛅ -1 °C

    I was struggling to motivate myself to go to Langold this morning but I knew I’d enjoy it when I got there. It was absolutely freezing outside this morning and there was a lot of snow forecast so I put on my layers and off I went.

    There has been some more action up there this last week even though John had said he had other things to do. The living room is now fully plastered out including the ceiling, the downstairs toilet is now fully boarded out and there is a new window in there although a bit of a goolie has been dropped and the glass is clear rather than frosted. Not sure if we ordered it wrong or it was supplied wrong but it’s not a big job to fix. The wall in the kitchen had also been boarded where the consumer unit is going to fit and a header to tie the freestanding wall to the brick built stair wall has been built.

    I was on my own today and the first thing that hit me when I got there this morning was despite it being biting cold outside, it was quite warm inside. I decided that the first thing I would do was to get the master bedroom tidied and swept out before sweeping down all the walls. I then made a start on painting the ceiling in the master bedroom. Just a whitewash to seal the plaster. I watered down a large tub of white paint and cut around the edges before rollering the ceiling. Arm aching work but one of the nice and easy jobs. As I was on a roll I continued through to bedrooms 2 and 3. Although the paint was watered down the ceilings covered remarkably well.

    The gaffer (JB) popped in at lunch time just to see how I was getting along and to see how his plaster was drying. He decided it would be worthwhile to fire up Bertha to inject a bit of heat in to the place even though it really wasn’t that cold. However I wasn’t going to complain as those of you that know me know I hate the cold. He didn’t stay too long, he cleaned up a couple of the bedroom walls to remove any plaster splashes and did a few other bits and bobs before disappearing instructing mr to turn off bertha before I left.

    I moved on to fixing last weeks little blunder and attempted to fix the missing wire from my 2 way switch for the landing lights. I ran a switch cable from one of the upstairs landing lights, across the loft, down the inside of the wardrobe in to the roof void above the hall ceiling before trying to find it and run it to the switch in the hall. I’d love to say it was a doddle but I’d be lying, however I did manage it. A combination of me running up and down stairs, up and down steps to get in the roof space and Bertha saw me needing to shed a few layers. I was slowly roasting, in the end I gave in and turned Bertha off.

    I then returned upstairs and recut and painted 2 of the bedrooms ceilings for a second time. Uncle Spock came up to check on proceedings just as I was finishing off. (His absence last weekend was noted by JB).

    As I packed up and opened the front door to load the tools up in to the car I was hit by the Baltic weather, nipped back in and re-layered. That’s it for this week as I’m working tomorrow I’m in Perth in Scotland - well as I write this it’s totally white over outside and we are on an amber warning ⚠️ for snow so that could be an interesting trip !!

    Thanks for following, our sick note has her pot off on Tuesday so I’ll be conducting a back to work interview next Saturday morning 👍. Until then, Adios
    Read more