Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Folkestone

    June 22, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Day 13 (& Day 14: Rest day)
    Distance: 24.83 km (451.24 km)
    Steps: 35,272 (645,529)
    Move time: 5h33 (103h22)
    Spend: £13.24+£116.52 (£203.63)

    Thursday feels like a whole world ago already. It's strange to remember that seeing my own face in the mirror of an ALDI toilet must have been my first time doing so in actual days, and yet it was literally just yesterday. I already do miss being back on the road, but this time will be different to anything before; met with, honestly, nerves as well as excitement; soon to be gone are the comforts of old blighty: the visits from friends, the wetherspoons, and the explaining of what the hell you're even doing in your own mother tongue. Hell, even the familiarity of passing your average tracksuit-cladden British teen yob, spitting in the street. Anyway, more importantly, I can not understate the enormity of my thanks to Alan and Joanna for their unbelievable kindness and welcoming in having me here, despite never even having met me. It goes such a long way to have had the chance to wash, plan, and reset before heading off onto bigger adventures. Kindnesses like this are those which I will never forget. I also just wanted to say thanks to anyone who has supported me for this first leg of the journey, whether it be by coming out to join me, donating to the fundraiser, or even having shown an interest and read one or two of these posts, you are all legends and I honestly could not appreciate it more:)Read more