Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 157

    Day 158: Science Museum

    July 22, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    As Shandos had her free day alone yesterday, I decided to have a free day alone today! So I went into the Science Museum in central London which I'd been keen on visiting a couple of months ago but hadn't gotten around to doing.

    Was glad I did as there was lots of good stuff there: Puffing Billy, the world's oldest locomotive, right through to the command module from Apollo 10. James Watt's workbench, Fleming's penicillin mould dish, an actual moon rock, the first ever ECG machine, an original daguerrotype camera from 1835, and a bunch of cool planes upstairs as well. There was a place we'd visited in Ireland, Clifden, where the world's first transatlantic flight had "landed" by crashing into a peat bog. The original aircraft was here which I was quite chuffed with!

    Met up with Mum and Rae at the front of the gallery as well and spent the first hour-ish going through stuff with them, before we had a coffee and they headed off to see other stuff for the day. Was good to see them again one last time, as I'm not sure when the next time will be! Could be quite a while!

    After finishing at the museum I wandered around in Kensington a little bit, not quite sure where to go as it was raining and all of the nearby food places were crowded. Decided to just cut my losses and eat at Pret since it's cheap, easy and tasty. Also had a delicious cookie from a nearby cookie place! Considered retracing my steps to visit the V&A but it was back the other direction. And the queue for the Natural History Museum was out the door and a hundred metres down the street, so that was out of the question!

    In the end I got a tube train over to the Strand and looked for a cheap camera shop to buy an extra SD card for storage - my videos are chewing through storage space! Even though I've obviously got backups of the final copies stored on YouTube, I don't like throwing away the source footage or the Premiere project files either. Managed to find a good price after a couple of false starts, including one place that wanted 140 pounds ($250 Australian) for a low-capacity card!! The shop I used to buy my computer gear from sells those for about $50.

    Decided to head home by heading across Waterloo Bridge to the station and then grabbing a train back to Twickenham. Not the best idea in inclement weather, and I ended up getting pretty soaked on the way across. At least the train was warm and left promptly! Got home and settled in for the evening, doing nothing of note as usual.
    Read more