Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Grassington and Skipton Castle

    August 1, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Today we drove to Grassington which is only about 25 minutes from where we are staying. It is a very pretty village which is used for the latest James Herriot TV series as the town of Darrowby. There were a surprising number of people wandering around. There were 3-4 coaches in the car park, so very popular. There were lots of interesting shops and we had a drink at a Cafe.
    That ginger cat was so similar to our late Garfield that I went to say hello. He was very friendly and put his paws around my neck and head butted my chin. Twice we walked past that bench and both times different people were giving him a cuddle. I think he's on the town's committee, a bit like Skimbleshanks.
    On the way home we dropped into Skipton Castle. It appears that every place has their own castle - like Australia has OTRs! This one is somewhere between Warwick and Kenilworth in relation to preservation. It has a roof (unlike Kenilworth) but is not quite sealed enough to furnish like Warwick, apart from benches to sit on and some things hanging on the walls. Bits of it date to 1090 but most to 1310. Now I know I said I like old things, but I think I am a fan of modern toilets!
    We didn't wander back through the town. There was too much commotion. Apparently 1 August is Yorkshire Day. Not sure what was going on but we were a bit tired to check it out.
    Read more