Satelit
Tampilkan pada peta
  • Hari 33

    Somalian Pirates

    22 Januari 2023, Red Sea ⋅ 🌙 75 °F

    Our dinner table is by a window. The curtains were drawn last night, so I opened them.

    A few minutes later, a security team breezed in, chatting on walkie-talkies. “We found it!” I heard them exclaim as they hastily drew our shades.

    Oops! I forgot we are sailing in an area where Somalian pirates are a concern. The curtains were drawn for a reason.

    The ship sent a letter to each cabin explaining the precautions they would take and where to gather in the event we are boarded.

    For the past two days, we have not been allowed to walk out on the main deck and the ship is not lit up like a Christmas tree at night.

    Security officials stand guard 24/7 on the deck. I’ve seen them peering through binoculars.

    Last time we passed through this area, I could see that the ship was armed with water and sound cannons on either side, as well. I’m not sure this time.

    Even though the threat is a small one, I’m glad they are not taking any chances!
    Baca selengkapnya