Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Forgetful Friend Returns

    February 27, 2023, South Atlantic Ocean

    Our missing friend returned during our final day in Cape Town, but he did not want to talk about the situation, claiming that the entire thing was, “entirely intentional.”

    Nor did he want to hear about all the angst and trouble he caused the ship along with the start and his friends here. Some part of him must be aware of all these things, but he is too embarrassed to admit it.

    As Larry put it, “If I thought Michael did this intentionally I’d be mad at him, but he really couldn’t help it.”

    Instead, all Michael wanted to do was bluster on about how “lovely” his stay was in, “Oh, where was it? Port something, I think?”

    Nor could he remember how he found a hotel or restaurants during his stay, even admitting that, “I don’t actually recall how I found a hotel, but it was gorgeous, like a palace.”

    Nor could he tell us how he booked his flight to Cape Town, “But I sat beside a woman who works for the ship. She’s absolutely beautiful. I think her name starts with a C.”

    We finally wheedled a few important details from Michael. Somewhere along the line, his son contacted him. “He gave me a sheet of instructions to follow so I could get a cab and catch my plane.”

    All I can say is that after all the horror stories we heard from passengers who were robbed in South Africa, Michael must have one hell of a guardian angel!
    Read more