Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Leaping Fish & Dolphins Close Up

    April 3, 2023, South Pacific Ocean ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    Before the internet, the only proof I had that other writers existed were bookstores and libraries.

    For many years, I felt quite alone in my compulsion to play with words. When coworkers asked how I’d spent the weekend, they were baffled. Sure, they liked to read, who writes for fun?

    I often wondered: Where are all the writers?

    I sometimes experience a similar feeling at sea. While I know the ocean teems with life, much of it stays out of sight.

    We can cruise for days without seeing a single fish near the surface. Many times, the only proof of their existence is fishing boats and seafood on our menu.

    I often wonder: Where are all the fish?

    Lately, there has been no need to wonder!
    From a distance, what appears to be a cluster of whitecaps often turns out to be a school of fish.

    Near Manta, I even saw jagged finned tuna leaping in the air. (We thought they were dolphins at first.)

    We’ve seen dolphins quite a few times on this journey, but lately they’ve been so close to the ship that we could even see them swimming underwater!
    Read more