衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日32

    The Lighthouses are Back!

    2022年9月8日, カナダ ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I have made it to Lake Charlotte and it is beautiful! Take a look at the pictures of my view! It was a little hard to find (tiny road, obscure road sign, etc.), the instructions I got were: “turn left when you see the blue garbage can”. Yep, I’m in rural Nova Scotia. (By the way, it was garbage day, do you know how many blue recycle bins were out?) I have once again picked a great place. This one is a little cottage on a property that overlooks Lake Charlotte. There are Adirondack chairs overlooking the lake where I have my morning coffee. They have a walk way down to a dock as well. It is quiet, peaceful and I’m all by myself.

    I take myself off to Peggy’s Cove, because you’re here and you have too. It is an hour and a half drive from where I’m staying but the scenery is lovely. This part of Nova Scotia is flatter than Cape Breton, so no mountain shots (and less gas usage!). I mostly weave my way through small little villages on the water. They have your typical little fishing boats in the little harbours and it is the quintessential East Coast life that you think about. I’m about 40 minutes from Sydney and Dartmouth, which are your typical cities but these little villages are what I like best.

    I get to Peggy’s Cove and I hate to say this but I’m not impressed. I mean yes, it is a pretty village with little fishing boats and tour boats. It is at the end of the land and the views of the Atlantic are endless. However, the 7 tour buses and droves of people take from the experience. There must be a couple of ships in Sydney today because I see at least one lanyard from Carnival Cruise lines, so there must be another one as well. The tour buses just keep coming and going. There are also little souvenir stores and restaurants everywhere. I do take a walk up to the lighthouse and get my pictures but then I high tail it out of there. This place is much to commercial for me.

    The best thing that happened today was when I stopped at a bus to get some fruit. I saw this place on my way to Peggy’s Cove. The young man, Pat Fogarty, was a hoot. He explained how his bus has been outfitted with solar panels so that the refrigerators inside run from solar power and not from generators. What a great idea! Pat has an organic farm where he grows a ton of stuff from onions to heirloom tomatoes and fruit as well. Check out his web link: www.fogartys.ca. While picking up some peaches, tomatoes, apples and carrots, I met a wonderful lady named Veronica. We started chatting (I know hard to believe that I would start chatting with strangers!) and we both love to travel. So after about a half and hour of chit chat and exchanging of ideas we have linked up on Facebook. So, another friend made, some great produce and a nice little addition to the blog.

    As an aside note. Today was the day that Queen Elizabeth II has died at the age of 96. I heard the news at a store I was in. The world has lost a great stateswoman who saw over 70 years of service to not only England and the UK but to the Commonwealth of Great Britain as well. May she rest in peace, once again reunited with her Prince Philip.
    もっと詳しく