Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Thailand virus

    August 10, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I definitely have it. The virus. Thailand was always low on my travel wish list. When I ended up here last December/January, it was due to the corona virus. I never had Corona. But just then the Thailand virus. So I have now stayed on this trip almost 3 weeks in Thailand.

    After my disappointment of last year in the Andaman Sea I may say, there are them, the
    Incredible diving and snorkeling sites in Thailand! In Koh Tao... the reefs are still alive. Where they are bleached out, they are regenerating. And the diving and snorkeling sites can almost compete with the Maldives in terms of wildlife diversity.

    On my long trip, this was the perfect vacation. Sun, sea, diving, snorkeling, good food. But I was 2 days too long here. Originally I wanted to leave on the 8th, but then extended 2 days. Bad idea. 1 day went by with research and booking in the hammock. Traveling means researching, organizing, making decisions. Tickets to buy, places to stay to book. Reading reviews. Comparing prices. Feeling 100Apps and Google always open.
    I'm not complaining, but the time commitment is not to be underestimated. But I could have done that in the bus on the way instead of in the hammock. Then I would have saved myself the spoiled food or the contaminated ice cubes. The 2nd day I spent in bed with vomiting and diarrhea. For the first time on this trip it was shitty to be alone. No one to go buy water.

    Now the vacation is over and the journey continues.

    Next destination is now George Town in Malaysia.
    At 21.00 tonight the ferry leaves Koh Tao and the bus arrives tomorrow around 17.00 in George Town.
    In Georgetown I stay 2 nights, so 1 day, before continuing to Kuala Lumpur. Maybe too fast?

    I still want to go to the Taman Negara National Park. This is easily accessible from Kuala Lumpur. Green, lush, humid jungle, the Malaysian tiger, orangutans.... Another bad idea was to throw away my sneakers in Hanoi. Because I could use them now in the jungle.....

    Then a next destination will be Johur Bahru before I arrive in Singapore. There I will meet Chun!!! He handled it brilliantly, never gave me any stress. He was always happy that I was doing well and provided me with wonderful tips in Thailand.
    Together we will make a side trip to Pulau Bitam in Indonesia, before it then also goes for me back home and work.
    Read more