Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    First Theatre Day

    May 5, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Today was my first theatre list in the hospital. I had a mix of laparoscopic and EUA procedures. They are incredibly efficient and got the 4 cases finished by midday. The consultant brought everyone coffee after the first case, and I was able to do some airway management and scrub to do a laparoscopic case. After that, it was the consultant's birthday, so one of the nurses made a delicious spiced apple cake that we shared on the break room terrace. The surgeons get free lunch at the hospital, so I had a chicken curry. Next, I sat and relaxed on the terrace and went to the medical school to finish some work. I then texted Tom, and we met up in town for dinner. We spent ages looking for an Indian restaurant and managed to get lost a few times. We eventually went to Vapiano (an Italian restaurant) and got some bubble tea. I had a mango one and it was delicious. Unfortunately, I was shattered, so I went back and fell asleep at 11 PM.Read more