Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Beach vibes

    September 24, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Col had already arranged a refresher dive for the morning, so I knew I had the morning to chill. Spent it pottering and sorting out our stuff which had ‘poofed’ out alarmingly, when we opened our cases. After my pottering, had a morning walk along ‘the strip’. The colours were striking: the blue of the ocean, the bright sun and sand, the oh so green shrubbery. Massive contrast to the monotone of the city.
    After a bit I sat on a shady bench and let the world go by. I think I can do this holiday thing….relaxing, letting go, slowing down 😌
    Col came back having been fully ‘scuba refreshed’ and I had an emergency ‘Bowen’ treatment booked for my misbehaving back. After that I had a paddle and Col a quick dip ‘the water’s so warm!’
    We then needed to address the small (pun intended) matter of me not being able to reach stuff. Off we went to Kmart to buy a Lucy extension (step stool).
    It was late afternoon by now, but we decided to drive up the circuitous road to Kuranda. Stopped at the Cairns look out and Barron Falls (a shadow of it’s former self?)
    Night was falling and the rain forest was coming alive with cheeps and chirps as a multitude of creatures reclaimed their territory for the night. A small furry creature rushed across the road. Roadrunner type birds pecked and darted about.
    We wended our way down the twisty road in the dark, emerging from the magic of the rainforest, back to reality.
    Dinner and just like that, day one of ‘beach vibe’ is under our belt.
    Read more