Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 30

    Last few Heron pics before we leave

    17 Ekim 2022, Avustralya ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    On our stay Col managed 4 scuba dives, and I managed 1 snorkel session!

    I’m not a swimmer, so getting in the sea is a big deal for me, but I did it with Col’s help, in the shallows, and I saw one little fish. Result!

    As well as a semi sub, I went on an island walk and a bird walk and we both enjoyed a turtle info session (no turtle laying seen, sadly).

    The main turtles in the area are green ones and their numbers are healthy and abundant in this are. Col saw some on his dives and I did too in the semi-sub.

    Other turtles in the area are loggerheads and the occasional hawksbill. The resident naturalists (hope I’ve used the right word - ie not nudists!) on the island were fab, very knowledgable about their patch and I loved learning about the place and seeing where the birds were nesting.

    On our last last evening we had drinks with another couple (whose names I have annoyingly forgotten 🙄). They’d just arrived on the island, but had lived in London and visited the UK many times, so it was nice to get their impressions of home.

    On our last morning I showed Col some bits of the island I’d seen on my walks. We saw rays lazily flapping their way around the waters edge, burying themselves in the sandy shallows for a snooze and we saw a shovel nosed shark doing his shovelling thing, just a few metres from the shore.

    Eventually the catamaran back to the mainland beckoned and we were back at Gladstone before we knew it, to the land of cars, concrete and people hurrying about their business. Talk about a culture shock!
    Okumaya devam et