Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Port Clyde

    October 3, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Well, while the internet on the Island was excellent, I am writing about it the following night, from the Chalet, where there IS NO internet. My point being that in case you're wondering why I chose this oddly named "Find Penguins" app.. now you know: it works in remote areas with no cell coverage! See photos of the boat, Mom etc. I really enjoyed my trip to the island. Mom and I enjoyed catching up over some lobster chowder and bisciuts. We talked about and covered variety of subjects and matters, some rather important, and seemed to be about on the same page on most of them. Her Colonial style home, which was transported all the way from New Hampshire, over the water out to the island somehow, was really remarkable to me in a number of ways. I felt a certain sense of solitude or protection or something. More solid than just it's obvious comfort and luxury. She said that the place is lined with a quarter inch thick sheet of solid lead, and I really feel that might of had something to do with it. Anyway, it is a very romantic place with a lot of privacy for the size lot that it's on and the number of buildings that are there. Its also just about as convenient as living on the mainland. This can be primarily attributed to Ivan and Dawn her caretakers. Who are apparently available and at the ready seemingly any time to take her to and from shore on a very practical, comfortable and safe boat. On a very quick trip.
    Some lobsterman had his boat sunk; Ivan and I witnessed him apparently draining out the petcock and trying to work on the thing. It was definitely ground ashore. I had heard of a boat being sunk when I was down in Portland I read about it in the paper. That was the second time in head been sunk... Now I got to witness the third time lol. Mainers.. and lobstermen in particular can be kind of tough at times I guess. I remember that according to Maine law if you raid a lobster pot the the law is that you could be shot. Kind of tough. I don't know if that law is still on the books or not.
    Read more