Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 3/8 cycling days

    February 7 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Well, I guess a success in as much as 1) I didn't need the support bus, and 2) at 52km that's the most I ridden, just, since starting training. But..... There were several things that meant the target of 80km was reduced, including the conditions, the fact that we'd a longer lunch to let the sun go past it's peak, and apparently (I've no idea why) the cycling tour company didn't want to be too late to the hotel in Along Vegn. Most of us (although some chose the bus) were still going at 52, and I definitely wanted to go to the next water stop in 5km, or the or better still hit 60km which I could have done, but we were all told to get on the bus. Dirt tracks better surface today, but more tarmac than before, but whilst it's hot it's easier to manage a steady pace and rhythm. It was 90min on bus from where we stopped riding to this quaint guest house, but it has got a basic split a/c which kind of works! One feature of the rides is lots of small kids shouting out 'hello', and us replying in Khmer. Not too many photos of interest again - we did visit the landmine museum but I sat outside and chilled having been there in 2011. We passed a lot of cashew tree farms, but mysteriously I cannot see the video! The mapmyrun screenshot is a bit misleading wet time as it includes water stops, waiting for people, museum visit, lunch etc. I believe the average speed was about 15-16km/HR for the middle group, the front pack would be faster.Read more