Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Bacalar Shoot/2nd attempt at Belize

    April 5, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    I got up super early this morning and caught sunrise in the Yak House back patio for Dimples Dyes photos. The sun was surprisingly strong for it being first thing in the morning. This made the photos sort of challenging, as a filtered light is more ideal. They were accomplished though, and as I was finishing up a very sweet woman showed up with yoga mats and said there was going to be a workout if I would like to join. Hell yeah! I ran upstairs to change and it was actually a very good workout using only body weight.

    When we were done sweating and stretching, I had a shower and ordered breakfast from the bar. I had planned to just chill, casually drink and work on my phone most of the day. All the lake activities were sold out for Tuesday, and the lake was closed Wednesday to give it a rest from the tourism.

    I had two days with nothing to plan. Oscar was correct when he said to only spend a maximum of 3 days in Bacalar because I would get bored. Well, I wasn't working for very long when Jasper showed up to Yak to have a farewell drink and a snack. We got to talking again and he said Suzanna was on her way to us to get her bags. I was immediately uneasy knowing she would be in my bubble again. Just bad vibes. I told him I was hoping someone would cancel their sailboat tour and I could hop on, maybe not be around when she comes... I hoped, but did not get my way. She arrived like an explosion of volatility into the back yard of the Yak and immediately began ordering at the bar and being rediculously picky and entitled. Again, I was ready for this to be over, but I for some reason chatted with her and mostoy Jasper for a bit, while I finished my 2nd or 3rd drink of the day. I think it's because she is actually very nice and I believe she is well intended, just not at all self aware, so I kind of feel bad for her. But maybe that's her point. I don't know. Tired of waiting for her to be ready to help me carry her 70lb pack from the parking lot to her, I just went and got it myself. I gave it to her at the bar and announced I would be working/napping in the hammock because I was feeling drained. I think I was able to doze off.

    Suzanna shot that horse in the foot when she yelled in my face, "Hey we've got a beautiful salad over here if you want some!" At least if she's going to be obnoxious she's going to feed me. Since I was already awake I went over and shared a few bites of a very good salad. Still feeling icky about being in her presence, I said I was going upstairs for a nap.

    I'm just going to work on photos until I fall asleep. Buenas Noches!
    Read more